Wednesday, 25 July 2018

James ‎Seven UK Remastered Reissue

Get It At Discogs
Following the breakthrough success of the band's previous outing, James released Seven, a record that married the ambitious scope of the lyrics with a grand, anthemic feel. Horns give songs like the lead off "Born of Frustration" and the surging "Sound" a certain majestic grandeur, sweeping without being overblown. Lead singer Tim Booth is in fine form, lending passion to the proceedings, yet maintaining intimacy. They don't totally abandon the more jangly, folk elements of past albums; it's still noticeably there on tracks like the lovely "Don't Wait That Long" and the shimmering, sardonic "Next Lover." Other highlights include the dramatic "Ring the Bells" and the resolute title track, which is propelled by Andy Diagram's trumpet, Booth's assured vocals, and a thumping rhythm. Seven might not be completely embraced by older fans, but it's a confident, artistic step and a fine entry in the band's catalog

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...