Saturday, 7 May 2016

Various ‎We Are Icerink

Get It At Discogs

We Are Icerink is a collection documenting the label run by Saint Etienne's Bob Stanley and Pete Wiggs between 1992 and 1994. They released nine singles and EPs during that time; this disc collects highlights from those releases plus some songs by friends and kindred spirits. The sound of the label is unabashedly pop, ranging from the knucklehead glam stomp of Earl Brutus' "Birth of Sharon" to the punky disco pop of Sensurround's "When I Get to Heaven" to the girl power punk of Shampoo's ridiculous "Bouffant Headbutt" to the cool instrumental French pop of Spring's "Bob Cool" to the bedroom toytown pop sound of Melody Dog's cover of the Beach Boys' "Don't Worry Baby." Unsurprisingly, a few of the bands sound like Saint Etienne. Golden's Stanley/Wiggs-penned "Don't Destroy Me" is a beautifully understated ballad that would have gone down as a treat on any Etienne record, the same with Elizabeth City State's sophisticated "V-neck" and Oval's "Love Hour" (pity that the band's cover of Def Leppard's "Photograph" wasn't included). There are a couple of surprises on the disc, as well, like Supermarket's campy "Supermarket," a Kraftwerk-esque techno track created by Lawrence from Felt,  An added bonus is the final track on the disc: "World of Twist's New Electric Pop and Soul" is a great barnstorming dance track by one of the forgotten bands of Brit pop that is unavailable elsewhere. Icerink was one of the best-kept secrets of the early-'90s British pop scene. Track down this collection and uncover some amazing pop music

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...